Vine Orchestra

In October/November 2013, the “Vine Orchestra” held a call for scores with durations of less than 6 seconds:

Over 150 compositions were entered, and 52 compositions were performed and recorded on December 1st.
Recordings have been uploaded to our YouTube playlist

Follow us on Twitter:

The instrumentation of the ensemble is:

Meekyoung Lee:  Flute (doubling Piccolo and Alto Flute)
Lindsey Reymore:  Oboe (doubling English Horn)
Ben Stonaker:  Bb Clarinet (doubling Eb Clarinet and Alto Clarinet)
Toan Tran:  Bassoon (doubling Contrabassoon)
Keri Wing:  Eb Alto Saxophone (doubling  Tenor and Bari Sax)
Rose Valby:  Horn in F
  Miguel Perez:  Bb Trumpet
Blair Castle/Ross Jenkins:  Trombone
  Cameron Warren:  Tuba
Vince Pierce:  Harp
Brian Heim:  Piano (with help from Vince Pierce and Lindsey Reymore!)
Stephen Krishnan:  Classical Guitar
Justin McConchie and Rene Lopez:  Percussionists
Turner Partain:  Violin
  Russell Podgorsek:  Viola
  Lauren Peacock:  Cello
  Elizabeth Lehr:  Bass
  Samantha Leibowitz:  Soprano Voice
  Jake Jacobsen:  Baritone Voice

One main goal of this project is to encourage compositions that are creative and striking while being extremely concise. 
The other main goal is to expose more of the general public to the potential of contemporary classical art music
in a way that is casual and that can be done with no time commitment.

Pieces performed:

Minifanfare – Jan Bach
On a Glance – Rodrigo Baggio
in which a moth is caught by a bat, contemplates its existence, then is swiftly eaten – Michael Betz
…But It Sure Is Short – Don Bowyer
Crinkle – Aaron Brooks
The 6 Second Rush – Dalian Bryan
Miniature #1 – Dan Caputo
Lost My Keys! – Joshua Carney
Six Second Sonata Structure - Dave Collins
Gonionemus – Andrew Cote
This is a Sonata if I Say So – Corey Cunningham
Dark Matter – Eric Delgado
Lyrical – David Drexler
Nearly Six Seconds - Steve Ege
Twinkling Over – Rachael Forsyth
Ultima Lunar Ice Blast! – J. Richard Freese
Crescendo – Antonio Galanti
A Taste of Aeterna – Arthur Gottschalk
Kiwi Vines – Anne Guzzo
Backwards Decade – Stanley Hoffman
Cowboy Diddly – Matthew Jackfert
A Sad Story – Zaq Kenefick
Sunshine on a Cloudy Day – David Kerr
Scamper – Christopher Kovarik
Saturday’s Argument – Christopher Kovarik
Oom-cha Rhapsody – Thomas Kresge
Reincarnation - Tim Labor
Arundo – John Leszczynski
Last Leaf - John Liberatore
(untitled) – Allison Maupin
WateredSilence – David May
Aether – Roger May
Yip! Yap! – Roger May
(untitled) – Michael Mikulka
Win the Internet – Michael Mikulka
Smirk – Christopher Neiner
Galaxy – Nailah Nombeko
Triple Concerto for contrabassoon, baritone saxophone, and contrabass – Lucas Oickle
Reticulon 4 Receptor – Anthony O’Toole
Requiem Libera Nos – Edwardo Perez
Micro-concerto for Viola – Kala Pierson
Growl – Justin Rito
The Foreboding Apprehension of a Looming Apocalypse, for Triangle and Orchestra – Ben Ryer
(untitled) - Micaela Santurio
Crystal Caverns – Samuel Stokes
Golgothan Fanfare – Samuel Stokes
VINES – George Sweet
Edl – Pierluigi Tanzi
sic second chance – Robert Voisey
(untitled) - Bernie Walasavage
Snowflake – Blair Whittington
Fanfara – Eudoxia Ypsilanti

(original call for scores:)
Compositions may be written for a subset of the orchestra (2-20 performers), may be written in any style, and may be any level of difficulty. 
Up to 2 entries may be submitted, and due to the short duration, scores do not require a title (though they are welcomed!).

Entries should be mailed to no later than November 22nd, and must consist of the following:

___Full score (PDF)        
___Full set of parts (PDFs)

                 ___Optional MIDI recording (mp3)